• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

State of the Market

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LinkedIn got me a couple of good gigs. I don't post anything, I just get messages from recruiters. Although I am in a contract (thank god, warchest is empty), my contractor phone hasn't rang a single time in several months, so it really does seem bleak.

Comment

Originally posted by willendure View Post

Do you think this helps? I tried to make it explicit that I am a contractor on LinkedIn and checked the option for Contract Work only. All I got was emails from recruiters for permie roles...

I actually deleted my LinkedIn last year, since I got fed up maintaining it. Was possibly a bit hasty in doing that...

Have you ever found a contract through LinkedIn - or networked contacts through it that led to a contract?
      Yep
      Was coming to end of one contract and new client (HR person) contacted me. Had never worked in that industry before. Just happened to have a skill they required.
      Two interviews within a week, offer shortly after.
      Ended up there for 18 months and one of the best clients I have worked for.

I think it has gone downhill though - people treating it like facebook, or interns thanking a company after working there for 5 mins.
      "I would like to thank XYZ corp and will return to Oxford Uni where I am on target for a double first whilst also being James Bond"

Comment