• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract ending can I furlough?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by CatBlack View Post
    I've been contracting through my limited company for nearly ten years. I finished a contract in December 2019 and didn't work at all last year - there was simply no work about (or if there was, I couldn't find it). Is this because of COVID19? Well, it's the first time I've not been able to find a contract since I started contracting, so you decide.

Anyway, I claimed through the CJRS from April to December and have absolutely no moral qualms about it. The furlough scheme is there to help businesses who have seen their income hit by COVID19. Whether there are decent cash reserves within the company is immaterial; if the government had intended that to be one of the eligibility criteria for the CJRS, they should have made it so.

The whole reason schemes such as this have clear eligibility criteria and rules is to eliminate unresolvable, subjective arguments about morality and entitlement. As far as I'm concerned, I run my limited company as a bona-fide business. I jump through all the hoops which the government asks me to (running a PAYE scheme, monthly RTI submissions, quarterly VAT submissions, CT60, Companies House Confirmation, etc.), pay all the taxes I'm required to, and claim all the benefits I'm entitled to.