• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

State of the Market

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by GigiBronz View Post
    I don't think that a hiring manager would want to have people at 75k and people at 35k in the same office. Maybe a 10k discrepancy is ok but it would make is life increasingly more difficult later on when it is find out. And it usually comes out.
    There is probably something else wrong with the role...
    If I was a vindictive hiring manager I would be happy with that. The appraisals would be fun as no-one on 75k could ever win...

Back in the 2000s I spent a while being the most expensive permanent employee - the ways they tried to get rid of me were entertaining to watch and quickly failed as I could out HR HR but it wasn't fun...
    merely at clientco for the entertainment

Comment

Originally posted by GigiBronz View Post
      I don't think that a hiring manager would want to have people at 75k and people at 35k in the same office. Maybe a 10k discrepancy is ok but it would make is life increasingly more difficult later on when it is find out. And it usually comes out.
      There is probably something else wrong with the role...
      yes, I think it's obvious they were never going to pay 75k.

Their tactic was just to attract talent worthy of a 75k salary and see how low they can get them for.

Comment

Originally posted by uk contractor View Post