• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

State of the Market

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by mem80 View Post

Yes - I do personal projects and upskill myself (especially with DevOps where I have only 2 years experience). Also have more time to spend with my family which is positive (especially that have new 6 month old baby). It was fine for 2-3 months, but now it starts to be bit frustrating...

Likely need to start to consider permanents soon.
    Even consider to go back to my country of origin (Poland) where the IT market still seems to be in the good fit.I tested it last week - applied to 3 jobs and got 2 interviews. However, they all require to be based in Poland for those contracts and while I don't want to do revolution in my live and go back, especially with 2 babies.

After that experience I am wondering whether the IT contracting market is broken generally or just in the UK.
    Curious what you find on the perm market. In general software devs always had it pretty easy as there was never enough of them around (especially in Poland as you've already mentioned) and some roles could be done remotely (most / all dev roles can imho, but that's a different story). Btw what's with the requirement to be based in Poland?

FYI Denmark / Holland has a really hot wind energy market, maybe more work is available there? typically English is enough to get by and they often say yes to full remote working (but I think dealing with a non-EU country might be an issue).

Comment