• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

DOOM: "Omicron Covid cases ‘doubling every two to three days’ in UK"

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I would worry less about whether scientists have an agenda and more about whether they are producing something useful (and I say that as a scientist myself). It seems to me that they are not very good at forecasting covid epidemiology (e.g., look at the history of the Imperial model, among many others). Creating vaccines, otoh.

Comment

Originally posted by jamesbrown View Post
      It seems to me that they are not very good at forecasting covid epidemiology (e.g., look at the history of the Imperial model, among many others). Creating vaccines, otoh.
      Change in behavior changes models - 146k dead so far from Covid and Imperial said 500k (without any changes in behavior at the time when no vaccines were available), if anything Imperial was on a low end.

Comment

Originally posted by mattster View Post

Yes, it's more complicated than just antibodies but the fact is that people are catching it twice, and catching it after being double jabbed - but in general doing better than they would be if they didn't have some immunity.
        Also, let's not forget the medical advances aren't just about vaccines. There has also been development of drugs to ameliorate Covid symptoms.
        Work in the public sector? Read the IR35 FAQ here

Comment

Originally posted by AtW View Post