• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How do you get started contracting yourself out to professional employers?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying to go contract, but most employers I speak to seem .. dare I say it, immature and unprofessional. Most want to avoid conversations around IR35 or don't know about it at all.How do you get started contracting yourself out to professional employers?

I'm a dev/data scientist with 10+ years of experience. One of the reasons I'd like to go contract is that most perm positions forbid any side business and make claims overall IP/software. I feel so trapped in perm employment and so limited by it. I'm an entrepreneur at heart but want something to fall back on should things go sideways. Most people I speak to find this to be completely alien.

My problem is I've looked at going contract, and most companies I've engaged with seem to want to treat you like an employee on the cheap. For example, one employer I spoke were not happy with me taking on other clients, another wanted me in 9-5 and stated they would keep extending the contract in 6-month blocks, but both insisted it was outside of IR35.

My questions are:
    • What is the state of the market at the moment? Particularly for those with data science and dev (+cloud) skills.
    • How do you get started contracting yourself out to professional employers?

I can't comment on the market for your skill set.