Posts 1 to 10 of 58

Thread: Lunch expenses

Nervous Newbie

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Lunch expenses

Hi there, I had a (hopefully) relatively simple question...

Some context
    I work as a contractor on software projects. It's fairly typical work: usually about 3 months on-site before moving onto a new contract.

I've worked in the industry for a number of years, and like all other contractors I've worked with, I keep my lunch receipts + expense them.

I do this by:
    Adding them up at the end of every month
    Creating a bulk expense in FreeAgent for the amount
    Then reimburse myself.

The problem
    My (new) accountant is now telling me I need to add lunch expenses individually. Or at least take a photo of each receipt and upload it to FreeAgent.

This amount of work for a 3-4 lunch receipt seems nuts.

Also this is contrary to my previous accountant, who said I could expense them in bulk and reimburse myself (so long as I kept the receipts for 6 years, as normal).

Questions
    1. Is this correct? Do I really have to submit each day's lunch expense individually?
    2. Are there any software or apps anyone can recommend to take photos and merge them into a single file? Bonus points for FreeAgent integration!

Many thanks in advance for your help,
    Tom

More time posting than coding

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Take photos of your receipts and expense them properly, or pay your accountant / book-keeper to do this for you. It's not exactly a hardship is it.

Still gathering requirements...

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by funkychicken View Post

Questions
    1. Is this correct? Do I really have to submit each day's lunch expense individually?