• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working from a Motorhome

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working from a Motorhome

I'm about to buy a motorhome and will be working remotely from there. I would like to know, as a owner of a small IT consultancy limited company, I can use my business to pay for the motorhome. Eg: buy it as a business asset, or rent from my self as a business office, or anything else that covers the cost of the motorhome
    PS: I'm a UK resident, the business is also registered in the UK, but the motorhome is from a European country. Thanks

Hello, welcome to the forum.

This is a variation on a question that we get asked regularly.

You say you are UK resident, so do you already have a home in the UK?
    When you say you will be working remotely from the motorhome, will that be in the UK or outside the UK?
    Have you checked with your clients if they are happy for you to access their systems (or keep their equipment) in a vehicle, and not a secure building?
    Have you checked with the caravan parks, etc, that you would be staying in, that they allow businesses to be run from them?
    What were you plans for internet connections?

Since you would be living in it, how would you pay the company back for your living time?
    …Maybe we ain’t that young anymore

Comment