• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Hello

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello

Hi All,

I have been contracting in UK Pharmaceuticals for several years now.
    I've worked extremely hard over the last 3 years but been very successful.

Now my main client has brought in a blanket ban on contractors, commencing 01 Mar 2021.
    And unfortunately, I am seeing these blanket bans happening on a wide scale across the country.
    The fact that I am outside IR35 and always have been so, would appear to matter little at the moment.

While I am receiving an abundance of offers from outside the UK, I'm afraid there are very few prospects for me within the UK presently.
    Therefore, I am trying to gain some insight into the probable future of UK contracting and whether I should prepare to move my family abroad.

Thank you

Welcome to CUK.
    "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
    - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment

Good luck!

Comment

Welcome.

Contracting is going to get seriously tougher in the years to come. Market will shrink and a majority of roles will be inside so 30 to 40% cut in income. Rocking on for years in outside gigs will be a thing of the past.

If I had the opportunity and flexibility to move the family anywhere to follow the lifestyle I'd be gone in a heartbeat.
        'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by Pragmatist View Post