• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Inside IR35 not working - Scam Alert

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Inside IR35 not working - Scam Alert

I am a contractor of over 20 years and have always been outside IR35. I have noticed more and more inside IR35 roles so I thought why not try one of these. Well to cut a long story short I got the role. I have quickly come to the decision that being inside IR35 is a truely scary prospect for an old hand like myself. I can see the huge advantages to agency and the end client which in my view will mean more and more inside IR35 roles are going to proliferate. The structure of working inside IR35 as presented to me is as follows :-

(1) The End client has a contract with the agency for your role and other contract roles potentially.
    (2) You get an email from the agency to say you got the role with the most basic information i.e start finish dates and rate and thats it.
    (3) The agency gave me a list of umbrella companies you have to choose from mmm
    (4) The umbrella I have chosen told me they have an agency /umbrella agreement which they sign on your behalf without counter signature from you.mmmm
    (5) The umbrella has NO service agreement with me. Sign-up on the website is enough mmmm
    (6) They then on their portal have a draft contract of employment which has no personal details to do with you and no signiture required by me mmmmmmmmmmmm