• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Older contractors

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by woohoo View Post
    I think in 5-10 years only the old programmers will be working looking after legacy systems. The new generation will ask a daft AI to write a system for them and it will probably do a decent job.
    I have "only" been in development/coding for 20 years but even before I graduated, people were prophesying "the end of coding". As it turns out, not only has coding not been replaced by visual tools and code generators, it's hardly changed. The tools are far, FAR better but TBH even the languages haven't changed much. Web is still written in JS, backend still often written in PHP/Java... .Net is great but evolutionary from Java/C++ and Google et al are still trying to find a replacement to C++. New tech and languages come and (mostly) go but the day to day coding work is really not massively different.

Maybe AI is the disruptor everyone says - I am leaning towards that view - but complex engineering in niche areas with bespoke terminology are not an easy application for it. "Write me code to X" is all very well, but figuring out precisely what "X" is is something humans haven't really figured out. A new developer joins a team, even if they are great they have no understand what the code does. They have to scrutinise code, documents, etc and often talk to the rest of the team... I'm not sure if that part of AI/ML is as far along as the 'flashy' bits.
    Originally posted by MaryPoppins