• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Need some property advice. First time seller - mucked it up

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need some property advice. First time seller - mucked it up

It's my first time selling a property. I put my house up for sale 1 week ago. It was valued at 550-575k by multiple estate agents. As there were only a few properties for sale in the area (chronic shortage), the estate agent recommended starting with a guide price of 570k and reducing the price later if needed. So, I proceeded to pop it up for sale. In the first week, I had circa 750 views, 0 enquiries and 0 viewing requests. I'm fully aware that Christmas is notoriously a slow time, plus there is the added complication of covid but I wasn't expecting it to be this bad. My house is in excellent condition with a great floorplan, driveway, garden, near the station, and house overlooks green space. Today, a local estate agent has listed FOUR houses for sale in the area, including one on my road. They've all listed around 575k, including one which is comparable to mine, has been listed for 550k (20k cheaper than mine, but has around 25sqm less floor space).

I can't believe another estate agent has listed four properties in one day, its left me very furious and upset about the situation. Now I'm planning to reduce the price of mine to 550k, because I need a quick sale. But I've been reading that a price reduction in a short space of time is frowned upon?