• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Paying in a large cheque...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by SimonMac View Post
    On a serious note you will get asked where the money has come from,
    I got asked this by the mortgage company when paying off lump a year ago or so. Felt like a criminal. I says you're not wrong, I'm a contractor.
    "Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience". Mark Twain

Comment

Pay off your mortgage or buy another property. The ROI will be good and you'll probably get better capital growth in the long term, but that's not even the main reason now: cash in the bank is at risk if above £75k, but if invested in hard assets then at least you'll still have those (even if they lose some value) when the banking system implodes.

Comment

On a serious note you will get asked where the money has come from, I can't remember what the limit is for anti-money laundering rules but I had the questions asked when I put in £20k.

Is the money coming from a solicitor, can they not do a bank transfer on your behalf?
        They can for a fee. Tiny relatively but I object. The cheque is drawn on the solicitor's account and I can/will take the letter they sent with it - never considered that so thanks
        Originally posted by MaryPoppins
        I'd still not breastfeed a nazi
        Originally posted by vetran
        Urine is quite nourishing

Comment