• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Expenses question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Expenses question

Hi peeps!

I'm very new to contracting and I wondered if anyone could shed some light on expenses for me if I am working away from home. I will be working in London Monday to Friday through an umbrella company, but home for me is Edinburgh. I just don't understand how it will work for me if I claim my accommodation expenses in London Monday to Friday. Does claiming expenses mean you get back every penny? For example if my rent in London comes to £700 a month if I claim that back through my umbrella company will I get the full £700 back? or what percentage of that £700 would I get back?

Thank you in advance

Originally posted by sophia57 View Post
    Hi peeps!

I'm very new to contracting and I wondered if anyone could shed some light on expenses for me if I am working away from home. I will be working in London Monday to Friday through an umbrella company, but home for me is Edinburgh. I just don't understand how it will work for me if I claim my accommodation expenses in London Monday to Friday. Does claiming expenses mean you get back every penny? For example if my rent in London comes to £700 a month if I claim that back through my umbrella company will I get the full £700 back? or what percentage of that £700 would I get back?

Thank you in advance