• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Work must be undertaken in the UK - outside IR35 contract clause

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
Collapse
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Work must be undertaken in the UK - outside IR35 contract clause

I’ve been working an outside IR35 contract for about 18 months. I’ve only just found out that there is a clause in the contract that says all work must be carried out in the UK. I had planned to work remotely while abroad for a few weeks this summer but this now appears to be impossible. The agency say it’s a hiring company policy but I can’t imagine why it’s an issue as long as the contractor is working through a Uk ltd company, resident fully in the UK and paying UK taxes.

is this a common clause?

Originally posted by peregrinefark View Post
    I’ve been working an outside IR35 contract for about 18 months. I’ve only just found out that there is a clause in the contract that says all work must be carried out in the UK. I had planned to work remotely while abroad for a few weeks this summer but this now appears to be impossible. The agency say it’s a hiring company policy but I can’t imagine why it’s an issue as long as the contractor is working through a Uk ltd company, resident fully in the UK and paying UK taxes.

is this a common clause?
    Yes because it has nothing to do with tax and everything to do with data security.
    merely at clientco for the entertainment

Comment

Particularly if you’re working for a bank.