• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract document through Umbrella rather than Recruitment Agency?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract document through Umbrella rather than Recruitment Agency?

Hi all,

I've been contracting for a couple of years now and my contract has always been between myself and the Recruitment Agency (i.e the document stating length of contract/day rate etc...) However I am due to start a new role for a public sector client and the agency is saying my contract will be sent through by my umbrella company rather than themselves. Has anyone ever had this situation arise?

I understand that legally I am an employee of the umbrella company however they have not been the ones to issue me with a contract in the past. I am feeling slightly wary as my start date is tomorrow and I am yet to receive or sign any contract.

Any advice welcome!

Yes this is normal. The agency contracts with the umbrella and the umbrella contracts with you.

Technically, it wasn't you contracting with the agency, it was your LtdCo, and you personally were contracted to your LtdCo. You may not have had a written contract but that was the chain as you are a separate legal entity from your LtdCo.

The chain isn't any different, it's just the intermediary between the agency and you that's changed (along with all that extra tax and lack of expenses...)

Comment

Originally posted by Analyst91 View Post
      my start date was supposed to be tomorrow but as I have not yet received a contract I'm not going to start