• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New Contract dilemma - need some urgent advice please?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Contract dilemma - need some urgent advice please?

This is the first time I been on a forum so apologies I am a newbie to this. I have been contracting for a while, but during Covid took a perm job for some security. I have ventured back into the contracting world, and found an exciting job through Agent A (they approached me initially). Having attended the interviews with the client, then been offered the job, I signed a contract with the Agent to start in several weeks time. I resigned from my perm role.

Now I have been approached by Agent B who has said that the client has issues with Agent A and wants to use Agent B exclusively and wants to secure my services through Agent B (who have offered my a slightly lower rate). I have tried to find out from Agent A what is going on, but they insist there is nothing wrong, though they can't get hold of the client!

All sorts of alarm bells are ringing, and I have seen an email from the client to Agent B confirming the exclusivity request. I have no loyalty to either Agent, and both are blaming the other for poor form. I have signed a contract with Agent A though, but am concerned that they don't actually have the client on board anymore. My suspicion is that once this got to HR the client realised they had an exclusive deal with Agent B, and could not use Agent A?