• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

State of the Market

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Had nothing for the past 4 months. Am I alone?

I have been applying for all applicable roles for the past 4 months, and I have not managed to interview on any role yet.
    There are calls coming up from pimps now and then (including the ones I have done business with), and they all put forward my CV, and wait and wait and nothing.

When calls do come, they all seem to be the usual fishing type ones, trying to find out my earlier rates, and clients, etc, and not forthcoming with any info on the role they were supposedly calling me for.

There was one from an agent, and I had to submit a long (a very long) test - an end-to-end app, that would take several hours to finish.
    That turned to be a fake role. Waste of time. I don't want to go into the details of that one! Really frustrating one to even think about it.

After that one, I have decided to never do tests (I never had to do one ever before, all of my contracts before).

It could not be my CV, I am pretty sure (some agents have even said they are waiting for feedback from client).
    I have managed to secure contracts throughout the past (16+ years), with about 2 weeks max. gap.

Feels dreadful.

I need to get something sorted by end of next month at least, otherwise the usual holiday mood will kick-in and it will be early next year (after Jan) to get any roles showing up, which is also highly unlikely given new rules to kick in soon at that time.