• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Can my wife, who is a director, receive a dividend?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can my wife, who is a director, receive a dividend?

I've been a contractor two years, my wife became a director after one year, and receives a small salary. She manages FreeAgent for us but I am the main fee-earner (my wife does not have another job). We wanted to be able to pay her a small dividend each month on top of the small salary but having read extensively here and online it could be I should have given her shares from the start and now it is too late and any new shares provided to her will make HMRC come after us.

I had thought the Arctic services case meant we could with little risk, provide my wife with a smaller dividend than mine. I have a cheapo accountant who has advised I seek advice somewhere else - I am asking around now but wanted to know what you all thought. Am I barking up the wrong tree here? Should we just keep her on the salary with no dividend? Thank you kindly in advance.

Firstly, directors and shareholders are totally separate things (though one person will often be both in small companies). Being a director doesn't give someone any right to dividends. Being a shareholder potentially does.