• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Keep money in Ltd company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Keep money in Ltd company

Hi

Apologies if this is a stupid question, but I'm pretty new to how Ltd companies work.

Let's say I land a contract outside ir35 and can work through my Ltd company. Do I legally HAVE TO pay myself a salary or can I leave all the money in the company and then maybe start paying myself a salary at a later date (for example after the contract ends)?

You don't have to pay yourself a salary. There are various reasons why you might not want to (e.g. if you're currently doing a contract which is inside IR35 and your limited company doesn't have any income).

You can take a salary when you're out of contract.

Since you're new to this, I recommend getting an accountant to help you with the company's finances.

Comment

Originally posted by hobnob View Post
      You don't have to pay yourself a salary. There are various reasons why you might not want to (e.g. if you're currently doing a contract which is inside IR35 and your limited company doesn't have any income).

You can take a salary when you're out of contract.

Since you're new to this, I recommend getting an accountant to help you with the company's finances.
      Thanks. I'll definitely speak an accountant.

So, to give more information on why I'm asking, I have the chance to take 2 part time contracts, one inside ir35 and paid via umbrella company and one outside ir35 via my ltd.