• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Permie > Contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Permie > Contractor

Hello All,

Names Daniel. Not DanielSQL... Just Daniel. Another member thought it would be funny to register to this forum using my name. Not impressed

Anyway I've been sucking on the teet of various employers for a little over ten years now. Managing and developing bespoke legal systems. During that time I've been involved in a number of enjoyable and challenging projects.

Over that time one thing has remained constant - working with databases. Using my SQL knowledge, mainly to write reports (this is what I've spent a lot of time doing). But also to create various objects and solutions.

Since moving on from my first employer - a stint that lasted 7 years. I've moved on to three other law firms. With an average stint of around a a year and a half.

I seem to move on whenever the work dries up. Because of this agents often assume I'm a contractor. And after reviewing what it might be like to be a contractor. I'm starting to wish I was.

So with that said. Here I am. I'm currently working for a law firm in London and am already considering the move to becoming a contract report developer.

Before making any commitments I want to do my research and find out what I could be letting myself in for.

My first question. How was your transition from permie to freelancer?

Daniel

Welcome to CUK Daniel.