• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dividends

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dividends

Im new to this. Im looking into umbrella companies. A company called pay lift contacted me & said I have the option to be paid dividends to increase my net pay. He said it was legal … im thinking not. Am I right?

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

The short answer is that yes, this is dodgy, so avoid them.

Basically, if your contract is inside IR35 then you have to use an umbrella company, and therefore you have to be take the money via salary (PAYE), not dividends. If your contract is outside IR35 then you can use your own limited company and split the money between salary and dividends.

Looking at Paylift's website, they claim to be a comparison site, i.e. you'll stick in your details and they'll tell you which umbrella is best. However, in practical terms there won't be much difference between legitimate umbrellas; their fee will vary slightly (typically £15-20/week), but that will be negligible compared to your overall take-home pay. There are other reasons to choose a specific umbrella (e.g. which pension schemes they support), but you wouldn't choose one based on price. That means that there's no need for Paylift's service. So, it seems more likely that they're acting as a front-end for a dodgy scheme in the background, i.e. they'll recommend their own company.

If you haven't already done so, I recommend reading through the sticky posts in this forum for more information about the pitfalls to avoid.

Comment