• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Maybe we should take Eugenics more seriously?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by DodgyAgent View Post
    I also like lefties who embrace and encourage capitalism as a force for good. Lefties who make a comfortable living from capitalist activities and then criticise capitalism I cannot abide (ie contractors with this viewpoint)
    'Scuse me, I'm a contractor but I do not make a living from capitalist activities. That would be if I used my capital to make other people work for me. The fact that I sell my labour in a market that happens to be capitalist-run does not make me a capitalist.
    Job motivation: how the powerful steal from the stupid.

Comment

Originally posted by Old Greg View Post
      The weakness of anarcho-capitalism (from a capitalist viewpoint) is that it does not restrain collective bargaining and industrial action. These necessarily weaken the position of capital against labour and prevent true price discovery of labour by artificially (in market terms) putting upward pressure on wages and related costs.
      This is where you are going wrong though. Capitalism doesn't mean a system designed to favour people with capital. It is a system which allows you to freely have capital. You are describing a feudal or serfdom system where landowners can exploit the peasants who cannot own land themselves.

Comment

Originally posted by Ignis Fatuus View Post