• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Getting wobbles at 45

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting wobbles at 45

Hi all, first time poster. I’ve been contracting as a software engineer for the last 14 years with back to back long contracts so successfully I’d say. Only in the recent few years have I started to get the bigger rates and as such only just starting to be able to afford to save and put proper money into my pension. Having stretched myself probably too far in younger life with big mortgage and kids, plus a low earning wife. My plan was always to get the mortgage done which will be in 7 years and then really ramp up pension etc until 60s (65 more than likely). But I’m getting anxious as to if this was a massive mistake, is the idea of contracting on similar rates for the next 15-20 years a sensible plan. Or should I look for a sunset permie job and reorganise finances to afford the rate drop? Must be an age things as losing my bottle a bit.

Originally posted by coxy View Post