• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Car battery - Trickle Charger

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Car battery - Trickle Charger

I am no Car expert, not even an enthusiast. I have a Kadjar which has a Start/Stop function. Not driving it frequently due to Lockdown which results in plethora of warning symbols (fault codes) shown in Dashboard. Whole day yesterday, having gone through and read tons and tons of info, realised that it could be because of very weak battery. Straight away ordered CTEK MXS 5.0 which is being delivered this afternoon.

Question is, it appears that there are different battery types like AGM, EFB etc.

0. Is anyone using CTEK battery chargers? Are they good?
    1. How can I identify battery type without removing it from the Car?
    2. How can I clear those fault codes/symbols from Dashboard. Do they go away once the battery is charged?

Of course, I will update this thread later for completeness based on my practical observation.
    Last edited by BigDataPro; 13 March 2021, 08:56.

A smart charger should work fine. Take the battery out to charge it and leave it on for at least two days.
    Don't use the CTECT charger and don't charge on the car. Don't jump start.
    Many new cars will not start if the battery drops less than 12v so 12v+ is a must before troubleshooting
    Faulty electrics are mainly caused by dampness when a car is not used.
    In particular leaves and debris collected in the vents cause rain water to drip on the ECU (especially Mercedes)