• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New to contracting - contractors pay higher tax?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to contracting - contractors pay higher tax?

Hi I'm new to contracting / trying to break into contracting and am just trying to get an accurate picture of how much I'd potentially earn as opposed to a perm role. Pretty much everyone I talk to says to initially go with an Umbrella company so assume thats I'm talking about here...

As a perm I was on 35000/year and was getting checks for roughly 2100 in the hand. I had my calculator out and its roughly 134 quid gross per day.

I've been using the calculators on this website and plugging in say 200/day (25/hr at 8 hours a day), 52 weeks worked (since perm you could work 52 weeks and forgo holidays). Pretty simple maths tells you the gross for that is almost 20k more at 52000/year. Forgetting about things like umbrella fee and tax claims at the moment the calculators are saying thats only 2,557.92 in take home pay. Not that 2500quid a month is to be laughed at but the increase struck me as rather low compared to raw increase in daily rate, more than 65 pounds per day!

I know I'm glossing over several things like holidays/sick leave and tax claims etc etc but I was just wondering if contractors end up paying more in tax?
    For example, perhaps, what perm salary in real life terms is 200/day comparable to?

Perhaps not being from the UK I'm missing something like a tiered tax system?

Read the First Timers section.