• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

MVL TAAR in UK and new EU contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

MVL TAAR in UK and new EU contract

Hi All,

I was a contractor and stopped in 2020. I closed my business through an MVL, which means that TAAR applies, so I cannot start a new company of the same type for 2 years.

I am possibly about to contract in the EU, working for a company over there, from home in the UK. I thought of registering a company in Estonia as an e-resident.

I do not want to annoy HMRC or fall foul of any unknown rules. I cannot see anything about not doing this, or any issues regarding an MVL in the UK and starting up a business in the EU.

Has anyone got any experience on this?

The TAAR is very broadly drawn ("same or a similar trade or activity"). Just use an umbrella and forget about it, since HMRC has clarified umbrella employment as being fine. Clarity is a good choice. Speak to lucyclarityumbrella

That said, if you're close to 2 years from the last distribution and you had no plans to do this, it wouldn't be a great case for HMRC.

Comment

Thanks jamesbrown

goonbreath just let me know if you would like a chat.

Comment

Thanks jamesbrown for the response, but for me I do not like the idea of using an Umbrella simply because of losing so much money, all the fun of being a contractor without the benefits. I am quite comfortable running my own business but have no experience in MVL and how HMRC view EU companies.