• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Should I pull out of contract?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Should I pull out of contract?

Hello,

I verbally agreed to an eight week fixed term contract about 6 weeks ago (I am an IT contractor).

I was due to start next week.

The contract is subject to SC. 6 weeks ago, I was told that the clearance would take two to three weeks (fast tracked) to come through so should have had clearance by now but only received the forms last week..

Fast forward to now - I haven’t received a laptop to start work, the company have said that I can’t work on the project (or be paid) until the security clearance comes through, I got a notification to say that it may take up to 40 more days for the security clearance to come through.

They sent me the contract today and I haven’t signed it yet. I want to pull out now because I will potentially have to wait for up to 40 days unpaid for security clearance to come through. I have other job offers which I can start and be paid for from next week..

Is it illegal/bad for me to pull out?

Depends on your risk levels. I waited 3 months back in 1999 for clearance. Eventually I called up the head of HR at *****REDACTED***** and mentioned that my friends who were neighbours of *****REDACTED***** had spoken to him and he'd said I should call the head of HR.