• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Aspiring Business Analyst

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Aspiring Business Analyst

Hi All,

I am another fairly young professional looking to get into the world of contracting one day (I am aware of the timing being pretty bad atm so may wait and see how this ends up). For what it matters I have about 4 years worth of experience in BA roles, but have worked across 2 completely different companies (small business and a FTSE top 10 company) and a few roles in my current company. Currently working in Telecoms in an Operations department

I would like to eventually become a business analyst contractor in a similar field but appreciate I may need to work up to this.

Happy to provide any and all information which would help you tailor advice.

But my question is basically what I need to in order to be in a situation to quit permanent work and move into contracting? Second question is how long is sensible to expect to wait to be in the situation to be ready to take the plunge? All I have ever gotten out of hiring managers, colleagues etc is I am doing everything right but you just need more experience (this has been the answer for the last 3 years). A ball park figure of 5 years or 10 years would be useful.

I have used the world ending to study for the BCS certification and am hoping to complete this fairly soon. Is this worth doing and are there any other things I could do to improve my CV?

Thanks
    Michael