• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First time contractor - Decisions to make

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi,

I am new to this forum and contracting as I have never done it before. I have always been a permanent employee but always worked with Consultancies so I figured why not branch out.

The perfect role popped up out of the blue and I went for the interview and have received an offer. I cannot ask anyone obviously to make a decision for me but here are a few questions I cannot answer.

1. Expenses for the role would be very high as I would have to stay away from home and pay for it, with my consultancies I just claim it back every other week so never out of pocket. How do I pay for such high expenses as it would probably wipe out anything I make weekly.

2. If it is inside IR35, and I go with Umbrella will I them pay expenses out of my own pocket and have to take it off my take home calculations.

3. If inside IR35 and I take home is calculated at £4000 per month after the various taxes, is there anything else I need to take off?

Sorry for the long question, I am genuinely in so many minds as to what to do.

You are now responsible for all your expenses and you'll need to factor those in to your rate expectations.

If you're inside IR35 under the rules from 6 April you won't be able to get tax relief on expenses as, IIRC, the 5% rule will no longer apply.

If you're with an umbrella, all your taxes will be dealt with for you. You will pay apprentice levy and employers NI on top of your usual taxes.