• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Warchests

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Warchests

I've seen this mentioned all over the place, and I'm being really dumb here but I don't really understand how people have built up large warchests.

I'm a Business Analyst, on £400 a day. That's a decent wage compared to other jobs, I've always been between £300 and £400. Talking to other analysts, and PMs, that sort of day rate seems to be the going rate. I've never met a BA or PM on more than 450.

In a month, that works out to be £8,000 plus VAT.

Out of that 8k, there's corporation tax to come out, plus insurances, pension contributions, mobile phone, etc.

As per my accountant, the dividend I can pay myself is £3,667 and salary £719.

That doesn't leave an awful lot out of that 8k.

An option would be to not take as high a dividend but due to loans in the past, my personal outgoings are quite high so I need all the money I can get in my personal account, so I take the maximum my accountant says I can.

I assume most people would take a salary and dividend of similar amounts.

If that's the case, there's probably between 1 and 3k in the business account left over. That would take a while to build up a sizeable warchest, yet I see people on here mention how big theirs is, and "after working for a year, I've got a great warchest again".

What am I missing?

I managed to pull together a house deposit - in London prices - using mine.