• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working Interview

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working Interview

Good afternoon.

I am a contractor in the web development field and I have been out of contract for less than a week during this time I have had a number of agency approaches to me regarding some possible roles for me to do.

I am not particularly desperate at this stage as I have many other things to be doing with my time but I am being pushed into a position by one agency to perform "working interview" at one of their clients which will lead to a job if the interview is successful.

The working interview will last one day and I will be paid the day rate that I said to them I would work for when we had our initial dialogue.

My question is do these things lead anywhere as a general rule of thumb or not? I am not acquainted with this scenario to be honest and, yes, I will get a day's money but the disruption to go up to Birmingham and the upset to the routine I have planned for the next week also makes me feel it's not worth while.

Has anyone any experience of these "working interviews"?

The agency is called Robert Half Associates.

My guess is that the client is after a 1 day consultation, after which they'll use the end result and can say that they paid you, thereby stopping you from taking them to court.

But it is only a guess...
    "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
    - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...