• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

State of the Market

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by KinooOrKinog View Post
    I recently had a call from an agent about an HR systems role 'perfect for me' (my background is finance and procurement apps) at £39k, FTC one year. I told her that I'm in a contract just now so not currently looking, but for that type of role and skill level her client should be ashamed of themselves for trying to take advantage.

According to her, it's not the fault of the clients who are offering pitiful rates 'it's actually the contractors who are driving down rates. A lot of them are so desperate they'll work for anything at the moment'. Her words, not mine.

Btw, I'm aware of the concept of supply and demand. I'm also aware that a lot of people have no choice but to take a cr*ppy rate at the moment but still.

So there you have it. It's all our fault.
    very interesting - Wouldnt believe anything the agency says but who knows

Im astonished 39K is mentioned I really am - Dont tell me your day rate was also 600ish

If this is the new norm god help us all

Comment

Originally posted by GigiBronz View Post
      I still don’t understand how people put up with it. A lot of them struggle with anxiety and mental health issue while working a job that doesn’t bring them any satisfaction, they barely afford the rent in a dump humid place and their idea of good food is an overpriced meal at the local pub.