• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Extension and notice period

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Extension and notice period

I've been contracting directly with a company since February 2015. They've given me a number of 3-4 month extensions since then. A 4-week notice period has been in place since I started.

They've now offered me an extension which is just over 2 months in length (to start in Jan). I informally asked my 'manager' about possibly reducing the notice period to 2 weeks as the length of the extension is less than usual. He said he'd see this as a continuation of the previous arrangement and feels the notice period should stay the same.

I don't like working in the same place for too long, so I've been looking at moving on but have found the 4-week notice period to be a huge obstacle to that. I've fallen into a situation where I feel that I will keep being offered extensions and that the notice period will prevent me ever moving on. I'm inclined to accept this extension just so that I'm in work in Jan/Feb and then if I'm offered another extension I'll refuse it unless the notice period can be reduced.

What would you do here? Is a 4 week notice period acceptable? I've read some people saying that the notice periods aren't enforceable... but if I agree to something I wouldn't really want to just walk out and put people in a difficult position.

4 week notice is fairly normal. It's not a "huge obstacle to moving on", it's something you live with as a contractor.