• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 logging daily events that prove you are outside

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 logging daily events that prove you are outside

I am new to contracting and I have read in numerous places that
    you should keep a log of things which could be used to aid your case in a ir35 investigation.
    Basically you should journal things that highlight that you are not an employee of the company.
    This journal from my understanding would be things such as;
    Not being invited to companywide quarterly financial update
    Not being invited to IT weekly briefings
    Not enjoying company benefits; for example deals they have with local companies
    Emails which highlight you are not an employee

Firstly do any of you keep such a log of these events?
    Secondly would such evidence help in an IR35 investigation?
    Thirdly is this evidence out of date now we have the whole business test and having to prove you are outside IR35?

Thanks in advance

A bit more reading may be in order - HMR&C have moved the goalposts so far with IR35 that they are no longer on the pitch. Keeping a journal such as this may give a little weight to your case in the event of an investigation but would certainly have no impact if the main determinants put you inside.
    Connect with me on LinkedIn

Follow us on Twitter.

ContractorUK Best Forum Advisor 2015

Comment

Originally posted by pc1980 View Post
      I am new to contracting and I have read in numerous places that