• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How much work does my wife need to do for a salary?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How much work does my wife need to do for a salary?

My wife's currently unemployed and I wondered what my options are to pay her from my company. I'm not working as a typical contractor, I actually find clients independently and source a small team more like a real, albeit small, software company.

I believe it's still possible to do some kind of income shifting with dividends legally, though it was almost stopped last budget IIRC? But I wondered about what the best way to do things are... she could be an employee or I could contract her or make her a director...
    Originally posted by MaryPoppins
    I'd still not breastfeed a nazi
    Originally posted by vetran
    Urine is quite nourishing

Just make her a shareholder. Provided she buys her own shares there are absolutely no implications, that's what Arctic was all about.

There are no hard and fast rules about paying her a salary, provided it is roughly in lline with the work she does. If the rate is disproportionate to the level of work (or responsibliity), Hector will see it as an artificial tax avoidance measure.
    Blog? What blog...?

Comment