• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Financial advisor (pensions, savings etc)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Financial advisor (pensions, savings etc)

So I'm new to recent contracting (did some back in the 90s!), my first contract is inside IR35. I need some help looking at my finances both in terms of keeping my tax burden lower (ie. selecting and putting more into a pension, NEST is default through Umbrella but I can choose another provider if I pay a slightly higher fee). I've got a few previous pensions (civil service plus more recent company pension (Scottish Widows)). Can anyone recommend a truly independent financial advisor who can help look at my overall financial position? I know getting decent advice is well worth the money.

I've recommended this firm, Ian Wilson specifically, to a few people and they've been helpful. They sorted out combining lots of bits of pension pots for me.

http://forumwealth.com/

They know how to deal with contractors and will happily talk to your accountant to explain any queries they may have once you've confirmed a course of action.

Comment

Where are you based? I would recommend mine but not sure if they focus on their own area... they used to but these days they are used to Zoom meetings and might not care.
      Originally posted by MaryPoppins
      I'd still not breastfeed a nazi
      Originally posted by vetran
      Urine is quite nourishing

Comment