• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Role Change - Potential Working Arrangements

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Role Change - Potential Working Arrangements

Hi All,

I would like to invite your thoughts regarding my situation (as part of my wider research / due diligence).

I have been contracting since 2008.
    I used the same limited company from 2008 to Mar-2021.
    In Apr-2021, the consultancy I am working with came up with a blanket no-Limited-Company rule, so had to switch to an Umbrella, which is what I am using currently.
    I did not see any near term prospects of an outside-IR35 contract, so I kicked off the company closure process later last year. VAT de-registration and Cessation accounts have been completed, and I have appointed a MVL solicitor.

However, I had a change of role at my client short while ago.
    I have now moved from the IT delivery / implementation team (it was an IT BA role), to the Business team at the same client (role now involves day-to-day risk management, providing new requirements etc).

Came to know this week that the client may offer a direct (removing the above intermediate consultancy) outside-IR35 contract from Apr-2022.

In this situation (if the above new Business contract materialises), may I please ask what do you guys think would be the best option for working from Apr-2022 -

Option 1

Let the MVL of current IT Company continue. And use a new Limited Company (with a new SIC code) from Apr-2022 for the new contract that I will get on the Business side.