• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Freelance - setting up a LTD

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Freelance - setting up a LTD

Hi – first time posting here.

I have a full time day job and I have been doing some freelance work on the side for a few years now. I’m a higher tax payer and after some calculation I have decided to set up my own ltd for my freelance work.

My freelance work is on a contract and I invoiced the client for my service twice a year. My turnover is expected to be between £5k - £10k a year. There is minimal bookkeeping. My question is if I can do the accounting myself or would I need an accountant? Obviously my preference will be to do it myself given I'm not making that much on my side hustle and micro-entity accounts don't seem too daunting. But if there's value added using an accountant I'm happy to consider it. (Recommendation welcome)

Separately I’m hoping to set up my partner (not married) or my mum (retired) as a shareholder and make use of their dividend allowance. This will be freely given to them and I will remain the sole director of the company. Is this structure legal?

Probably you can do the accounts yourself. Many people do. Since you're working a sole trader now, IR35 is unlikely to be an issue, but you need to be aware of it.

For settling shares on your mother and partner - probably you can't. https://www.qdoscontractor.com/tax/guides/section-660a
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

Thanks - yup aware of IR35.