• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

xmas party - expense

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

xmas party - expense

Hi, im new to contracting and finding my feet.

quick question, if i wanted to have a xmas meal with partner (less than £150) i have read i can claim x amount back, do i just get the VAT back? (im registered for FRS) or the whole value?

do/can i use the company bank card? or personal and expense it?

thanks in advance

Originally posted by oxon1985 View Post
    Hi, im new to contracting and finding my feet.

quick question, if i wanted to have a xmas meal with partner (less than £150) i have read i can claim x amount back, do i just get the VAT back? (im registered for FRS) or the whole value?

do/can i use the company bank card? or personal and expense it?

thanks in advance
    Doesn't matter who pays.
    Forget VAT if you're FRS. You already know this of course as you're already on FRS.
    If you pay you can claim as a personal expense from the company. The company counts it as business entertainment so no further relief.
    You must have receipts. You can only claim what's on your receipts.
    See You Next Tuesday

Comment

YourCo can pay for an annual event for its employees so long as the cost per head (including any other guests) is not more than £150.

As you're on the FRS YourCo will not be able to reclaim any VAT on this amount however it will be an allowable expense for CT purposes without incurring any BIK charge on you personally.