• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Subject to investigation without being notified

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Subject to investigation without being notified

This is a throwaway account for obvious reasons.

I'm a contractor, and have been for past 16 years, and I currently work for a government agency in my third role during the past 20 months. The environment is politically charged with major problems in some programmes that I have now been asked to help with. My role was changed without consultation two weeks ago to put me at the forefront of sorting out delivery of the IT elements of one of the broken programmes.

This morning I was told by a trusted colleague, a perm civil servant I've been friends with for more than 20 years, that I am subject of an investigation about my conduct.

I have written to my line manager (the interim CIO) asking if there is an investigation and what the subject is if there is, and got a bland response saying as an interim he could not comment.

I cant think of anything that I have done that would warrant being investigated, apart from almost loosing my temper in a meeting and telling a subordinate for "******* grow up" in November last year - but I thought this had be resolved. I do have outside interests but nothing that needs to be declared as a conflict of interest and everything extracurricular I do is above board and the agency have always been aware of the the details.