• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Can I decrease the IR35 risk if offshore software developers work through my Ltd?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can I decrease the IR35 risk if offshore software developers work through my Ltd?

Hi

I am a software developer. I am a contractor and work through my limited company.
    My current client has offered a 1 year extension. I am concerned about IR35 risks.

The client needs more software developers and struggles to hire them in London.
    I could help the client to find one or more offshore developers in Eastern Europe.

Offshore developers might work through my Ltd company. Would it decrease my IR 35 risks?

Thanks

M

Yes as you are acting like a real business.

Although each contract is reviewed under its own merits, having read a few judgements on IR35, the judges are looking at the whole context, i.e. if the contractor has his own office and is working on other contracts, doing his own marketing etc and it will weight their decision to judging against IR35, in particular if you are placing contractors for the same client with whom you have the contract. Clearly if you are earning margin on placing other contractors, then you are not like one of the perms.

I think any investigator would probably move on if he were to find out you had a load of employees.
    I'm alright Jack

Comment

I think it would help, but what is making you worried? Did you have your contract and working practices reviewed?

Comment

Originally posted by Max E View Post