• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting straight out of uni. Is it doable?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting straight out of uni. Is it doable?

I'm a C# developer with a pretty high first class degree in computer science from a very good uni (also 94+ in all modules related to software engineering). I have worked for 3 IT companies already (roughly 2 years in total now, all .NET related experience). Rather than going for a permie job after graduating - is it feasible to attempt to swim the contractor waters? I have a bit of money saved up so could potentially survive upto 6 months of no pay/set up costs etc. If this is possible - what kind of challenges should I expect/research? Thanks!

Doable? Yes. Easy? No.

I know developers with computer science degrees who'd worked for various companies during their course. They were unanimous that when they started working for real, they learned more in that first year of permie work than they'd ever learned at university.

I.e. you're probably not experienced enough to do it.
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

If someone offers you a contract, yes
      If not, then no

We are like luvvie actors - either doing a gig or resting.

Some on here rest more than most............

Comment

Worked for three different companies over 6 years before contracting. My first contract was specifically to do with my experience of those previous jobs. And I wouldn't have got those previous jobs without my degree.