• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Always end up in boring roles

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Always end up in boring roles

I have about 6 years project support / pmo experience, I am contracting for over 2 years now.

I left permanent job as it was slow and boring, I thought that contracting will provide me with a little bit more risk / excitement / opportunities comparing to my permanent job.

However, all jobs that I get are exactly the same as my permie job - my role is always slow paced, I do odd tasks here and there and then spend my day working on personal projects. I keep doing PM / PMO training which I pay for, keep asking for more responsibilities at work, choose contracts carefully, but end up stagnating in my role.

What am I doing wrong?

I considered going back to permieland as often advised to contractor forum users like me. However, I am worried that I will end up in the same situation as I am now, but earning a fraction of my daily rate.

edit: to be clear I want to make difference, learn new things, advance. But I don't see many opportunities to do so - whether it's a permie role or a contract.

Any advice is very welcome...
    Last edited by monita; 21 December 2016, 15:27.

Originally posted by monita View Post
    I have about 6 years project support / pmo experience, I am contracting for over 2 years now.

I left permanent job as it was slow and boring, I thought that contracting will provide me with a little bit more risk / excitement / opportunities comparing to my permanent job.