• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is this a good strategy for me to get into contracting?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this a good strategy for me to get into contracting?

Newbie here. I've been a permie C# & ASP.NET developer for years and am now wanting to go contracting. My motivations are:

1. To be able to move on every 12 months (or even more frequently) if I want to, rather than being stuck with the same company for years
    2. The option to take a few weeks (or months) off every now and then if I fancy a break
    3. To feel more independent and not be dragged into the appraisal/personal-development-plan/HR nonsense
    4. To earn better money (or the same money for less hours) than I was as a permie
    5. Finding that permie benefits are largely non-existent nowdays (e.g. tiny employer pension contribution, tiny pay rise once in month of sundays, no sick pay in the first 12 months, no private health care)

I'm thinking that my strategy will be as follows...

1. Get "inside IR35" contract work via agencies
    2. Use umbrella company (agency might insist on this)
    3. Get professional indemnity insurance (to cover risks such as breach of contract, negligence, defamation, data loss)
    4. Get public liability insurance (to cover risks such as someone tripping over by rucksack or laptop cable when I'm on client site)
    5. Use pension contributions into my own stakeholder pension if I can get higher rate tax relief on them (probably claim back via self assessment)