• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Office professional on a netbook?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Office professional on a netbook?

Going to get myself a netbook for traveling light... probably the Samsung N10 or Asus eee thingy.

I'll need to open office files (project, visio and excel mainly) but the geezer at the shop reckoned it would struggle to run them.

I'm no expert, but I can't see why it should be too bad.

Any thoughts?

Is this fella just trying to flog me a grands worth of Sony?

Originally posted by mailric View Post
    Going to get myself a netbook for traveling light... probably the Samsung N10 or Asus eee thingy.

I'll need to open office files (project, visio and excel mainly) but the geezer at the shop reckoned it would struggle to run them.

I'm no expert, but I can't see why it should be too bad.

Any thoughts?

Is this fella just trying to flog me a grands worth of Sony?
    Office is not a heavy-duty application. You would struggle to run Autodesk Maya though.

Comment

Friend of mine has an N10 and just installed Office 2003 - no probs. But ensure you have as much memory as poss installed (2GB?).

Comment

Originally posted by Platypus View Post
        Friend of mine has an N10 and just installed Office 2003 - no probs. But ensure you have as much memory as poss installed (2GB?).
        No, its only 1gb standard. Assume can be updated though if its struggling.

Comment

Read EEE by gum for upgrading memory, it's straight forward enough.