• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Vodafone internet problem?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Vodafone internet problem?

I've been using Vodafone mobile broadband for a few years now.

On Saturday it stopped working. The router connects ok at the telephony level but I can't ping any sites. Normally, if I run out of data or something, I can still access vodafone.co.uk but not now. Interestingly, I can do an nslookup on domain names, so it is still connecting to their DNS server.

This is what I've tried, to rule out a problem at my end:

1) another router (made no difference, so it's not a fault with the router)
    2) another Vodafone sim card (no difference, so it's not a problem with my account)

If I put a Three or giffgaff sim card in the router, it works fine with their networks.

I tried taking the laptop and router a few miles away in the car, to connect to a different tower, but the problem is the same.

------------------------------------------

It's not a biggy because I was thinking of ditching Vodafone anyway (crap website and customer service).

By the way, what is it with the big 4 telcos (Voda, EE, Three, O2)? Their websites are all dreadful and they get terrible reviews.

I'll probably go with giffgaff, or maybe try Smarty. Both their websites are a joy to use compared to the big 4.
    Scoots still says that Apr 2020 didn't mark the start of a new stock bull market.

No idea what the issue is (don't they have a service status thingummy?) but I can sympathise with the rest of your post.