• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

CMV: IR35 Chapter 8 is just a deterrent

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

CMV: IR35 Chapter 8 is just a deterrent

Hey,

I've been reading this forum for a while, and I have been contracting for many years, never really cared much about IR35.
    I'd like to understand where does all this fear and concern about this topic comes from?
    Now I do understand that Chapter 10 changed the rules a little bit, but going back to Chapter 8 where SDS is on the contractor.
    Say I pay 30% by determining myself outside rather than 50% tax for being inside. The odds to be investigated are small, so I'd expect
    the mathematical expected value of the profit to be E = p*(T*1.5) - (1-p)*T, where p - probability of getting caught, T- difference in tax paid. (1.5 for penalties)
    Tax in that case = 0.2*Profit. By my estimates, as long as p < 40%, it always make sense just to go outside, since E > 0.
    Are the odds of being investigated and lose even close to 40%?
    And even then, LTD has no money so HMRC gets nothing (has it ever happened in history for IR35 case for director to pay out?)

Conclusion:

IR35 Chapter 8 is just a deterrent that created a bunch of firms, insurances, accountants etc. to milk contractors.
    But in reallity that's not something to be worried about.