• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract to Perm With Delayed Start Date

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract to Perm With Delayed Start Date

I’ve been contracting at the same client for 2 years, and I’m leaving today as they have issued me an Inside SDS.

The manager has offered me a permanent role in the team with a delayed start date of 3 months, and a different job title and description (still dev, more senior).

For what it’s worth, I’ve also had my contract reviewed by my accountants who said it is supportive of an Outside determination.

Do you guys think this is good enough to prevent retro taxation, or should I bench myself?

I'd be wary. Just how different is the perm role? Completely different technology stack or same stuff, just a bit more senior?

Your accountants' opinion is likely to be trumped by the client's assessment of your working practises for the past two years. If it were challenged, you already know the client won't support an outside determination.

Comment

It is the same stuff, just a bit more senior.

Agreed, it's a blue chip company who wouldn't support an outside determination, so I'd be in hot water if challenged.

I'm wondering whether the 3 months break, which is way too long to look like a holiday, would be enough to show they are separate engagements.

Comment

Originally posted by PaleDale View Post

Agreed, it's a blue chip company who wouldn't support an outside determination, so I'd be in hot water if challenged.