• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Penalties Letter Received from HMRC

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Penalties Letter Received from HMRC

I have been sorting this loan stuff with HMRC on my own now since 2019, initially going through the loan charge process and spreading the outstanding loan amounts accross 19/20/21 tax returns. (for loans 16-19)
    They then asked me to go through the settlement 2020 process which was a year or so ago. I have been very open and honest with them and given them all info / bank statements etc they've asked for.

I have just received a letter from them threatening penalties for inaccuracies in tax returns relating to years ended 18/19/20.
    "We believe that your tax returns contain inaccuracies as described below"
    "The returns did not include amounts received relating to disguised remuneration scheme, but they should have"

They have given me just 1 week respond, and don't give anymore info than the above, no detail of the inaccuracies. No help on the phone either.
    Am I within my right to request detail of supposed inaccuracies before giving a response ? it's a bit of a blow as I feel like I have given them everything and been really helpful and this worrying saga just going on and on and on...